Connecting New Zealand

Best of Waikato’s civil construction industry revealed

07 Jul 2021

The best civil construction projects in Waikato were celebrated recently at the 2021 CCNZ Waikato Hynds Construction Awards. 

A record 230 people attended the ceremony on 25 June at The Atrium on the Wintec campus in Hamilton, including Hynds Director Adrian Hynds and Hamilton Mayor Paula Southgate.

Brian Perry Civil was the night’s big winner. The company's Wairoa River Bridge Cycleway earned it the award’s most coveted title, Supreme Winner, after the project also bagged first place in Category Three (projects of $1 - $10 million).

Brian Perry Civil's work on the Oponae Slip Repairs gave them the trophy for Category Two (projects of $250,000 - $1 million), Downer got the accolades for Category 4 (projects over $10 million) for its work on the Rotokauri Transport Hub and Spartan Construction won Category 1 (projects up to $250,000) for the Hinuera T1 & T2 Protection Replacement,

Other accolades included Health & Safety, which went to Fulton Hogan Limited for the West Waikato North Network Outcomes Contract, and Trainee of the Year, which was presented to Khalid Gilbert of Schick Civil Construction.

CCNZ Waikato Branch Secretary Nicki Carson said she was delighted with this year’s awards.

“It was my final year planning the gala dinner and I feel like I’ve gone out on a bang. The evening was a great chance to celebrate all the incredible work being done by civil construction contractors across the region. 

“There were so many impressive entries, including the highest ever number for Category Four (projects over $10 million), which made the judges’ jobs really tough. I want to extend my congratulations to our worthy winners, and to thank everyone for their continued commitment to this thriving industry”.

Winners: CCNZ Waikato Hynds Construction Awards

Category one:  Projects with a value up to $250,000
Award winner: Spartan Construction Ltd for Hinuera T1 & T2 Protection Replacement

Category Two:  Projects with a value between $250,000 and $1 million
Award winner: Brian Perry Civil for Oponae Slip Repairs

Category Three:  Projects with a value between $1 million and $10 million
Award winner: Brian Perry Civil for Wairoa River Bridge Cycleway

Category Four:  Projects with a value over $10 million
Award winner: Downer New Zealand Ltd for Rotokauri Transport Hub

Health & Safety
Award winner: Fulton Hogan Limited for West Waikato North Network Outcomes Contract (2015–2020)

Trainee of the Year
Award winner: Khalid Gilbert of Schick Civil Construction

Supreme Winner
Award winner: Brian Perry Civil for Wairoa River Bridge Cycleway




Principal Business Partner
Core Associates
Major Associates
UDC Finance
Geofabrics New Zealand Ltd
Teletrac Navman
Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency
Humes Pipeline Systems
Youngman Richardson & Co Ltd
Western Institute of Technology Limited
TLC Insurance Limited
nib Advice Financial
Wirtgen NZ Ltd
Firth Certified Concrete
Total Oil NZ
Safe Business Solutions Ltd
Synergy Positioning Systems
Doug the Digger
Turbo Staff Limited
Before U Dig
SAMI Bitumen Technologies Pty Ltd
Liebherr New Zealand
Porter Hire Limited
A B Equipment Ltd
RobLawMax Recruitment Ltd
Winstone Aggregates
Southeys Group
ERoad Ltd
Komatsu NZ Ltd
Marley NZ Ltd
TR Group
Hynds Pipe Systems
Sheet Pile Ltd
BNZ Partners
Vertu Equipment Limited
Turners Group Ltd: Head Office/Auckland
H.J. Asmuss & Co. Ltd
Manage Company
Terra Cat
Infrastructure New Zealand


Forgot password?
Create an Account