Connecting New Zealand

Waikato awards recognise outstanding people and projects

21 Aug 2023

A 2.7km tunnel to bring water to a power station, an upgrade for a local domain, a major ring road, works to enable a new retirement village and the new entrance for Hamilton Zoo featured amongst the year's winning projects at the CCNZ Waikato Branch Hynds Construction Awards on Friday 11 August.

This year's awards were presented at Claudelands Arena and attended by 300 people, a record number for any CCNZ Waikato Branch function.

Connell Contractors took out this year's Supreme Award, also winning the Category 2 award for projects with a value between $1m and $5m and the Health and Safety Award for the delivery of the Poutu Intake and Tunnel Erosion Repair Works. This Genesis Energy project restored a 2.7km intake tunnel that takes water from the Tongariro River to the Tokaanu Power Station remedying significant damage, and restoring the 50-year-old tunnel to operation.

Public spaces were also prominent at the awards, with Downer taking home Category 1 for projects up to $1m with a 'feel good' project to upgrade the Tirau Domain, while Schick Civil Construction won category 3 for  projects between $5m and $10m for creating a new entrance for the Hamilton Zoo.

TDM Construction's Linda Jones Retirement Village project took out the Category 4 award for projects between $10m and $20m, while Fulton Hogan's four-year project to construct the final section of Hamilton's Ring Road won the large category award for projects over $20m.

The people behind the projects featured at the awards as well, with Morore Hodges-Tuhakaraina of Brian Perry Civil winning Apprentice of the Year and Nic Ganly of CB Civil taking out Engineer of the Year. Sam Savage of Fulton Hogan was presented with the Emerging Leader Award, while Hamish Riddell of Fulton Hogan was named the year's Outstanding Individual. 

CCNZ Waikato Branch Chair Adam Plimmer said there had been a record number of entries for the five project categories and people awards too, with winners spread evenly amongst the local contractors.

“We saw some remarkable projects take home this year’s branch awards. It shows the Waikato region has a strong industry, that is committed to working to the highest standards and developing its people. Congratulations to all of the years winners and finalists, you have done us proud.”

Mayor of Hamilton, Paula Southgate attended the awards to thank the industry for supporting the growth aspirations of Hamilton City Council, highlighting the region's rapid growth. She lauded the work being delivered by the industry and the calibre of the people delivering the work.

View the event photos online at the CCNZ Facebook Page>>


Event MC Greg Ward entertains the capacity crowd

CCNZ Waikato Branch Chair Adam Plimmer, Northern Regional Manager Calum Twist and Hamilton Mayor Paula Southgate address the audience

And this year's winners are...

Apprentice of the Year - sponsored by Success Group

Morore Hodges-Tuhakaraina, Brian Perry Civil

Engineer of the Year - sponsored by Winstone Aggregates 

Nic Ganly, CB Civil

Emerging Leader - sponsored by Brian Perry Civil

Sam Savage, Fulton Hogan

Outstanding Individual - sponsored by Hirepool

Hamish Riddell, Fulton Hogan

Project Category 1: $0 - $1m - sponsored by Earth Prep

Downer, Tirau Domain Upgrade

Project Category 2: $1m - $5m - sponsored by Geosynthetic Partners International Limited (GPIL)

Connell Contractors, Poutu Intake and Tunnel Erosion Repair Work

Project Category 3: $5m - $10m - sponsored by Terra Cat

Schick Civil Construction, Zoo Waiwhakareke Shared Entry Stage 2

Project Category 4: $10m - $20m - sponsored by Geosynthetic Partners International Limited (GPIL)

TDM Construction, Linda Jones Retirement Village

Project Category 5: $20m+ - sponsored by Winstone Aggregates

Fulton Hogan - Ring Road- Wairere Drive Extension

Health and Safety Award - sponsored by HEB Construction

Connell Contractors, Poutu Intake and Tunnel Erosion Repair Work

Supreme Award - sponsored by Hynds

Connell Contractors, Poutu Intake and Tunnel Erosion Repair Work

Thanks to our amazing sponsors

Premier sponsor and Supreme Award - Hynds Pipe Systems

Award and function sponsors




Principal Business Partner
Core Associates
Major Associates
Capital Consulting International NZ Limited
CSP Div of Fletcher Steel
Mico New Zealand Ltd
Rettenmaier New Zealand Ltd
MATES In Construction
Power Farming New Zealand Ltd
Connexis | Te Pukenga
Vertu Equipment Limited
TotalEnergies NZ Ltd
Brandt Equipment
ERoad Ltd
Vertical Horizonz NZ Ltd
H.J. Asmuss & Co. Ltd
Mimico NZ Ltd
Northpine Ltd
Nulca NZ
Coninnova Limited
BNZ Partners
Wirtgen NZ Ltd
AECOM New Zealand Limited
Terra Cat
TRIG Instruments
Milwaukee Tool New Zealand
Axiom Training
Hynds Pipe Systems
Manage Company
Winstone Aggregates
UDC Finance
Southeys Group Auckland
Komatsu New Zealand Ltd
TLC Insurance Limited
Franklin Smith Group
Liebherr New Zealand
Holcim New Zealand Ltd
Reliance Reinforcing Limited
Advice Financial
Greenlight Insurance Brokers
Marley NZ Ltd
Te Pūkenga trading at WITT
TR Group
Sheet Pile Ltd
Brolube New Zealand
XCMG New Zealand
Synergy Positioning Systems
Turners Group Ltd: Head Office/Auckland
Doug the Digger
John Deere Limited
Infrastructure Sustainability Council
Firth Certified Concrete
Portacom New Zealand Limited
Global Survey - Auckland
A B Equipment Ltd
The Drug Detection Agency
Porter Group Limited
Enviro NZ Services Ltd
Youngman Richardson
Commercial Hire NZ Ltd
Teletrac Navman
Kobelco New Zealand
Hydraulink Fluid Connecters Ltd
Terra Infrastructure Pty Ltd
SAMI Bitumen Technologies New Zealand Ltd
Steelgal NZ Ltd
Humes Pipeline Systems
Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency
First Gas
Geofabrics New Zealand Ltd
Infrastructure New Zealand
Absolute Immigration NZ
Geosynthetic Partners International Ltd


Forgot password?
Create an Account