Connecting New Zealand

Temporary Traffic Management Steering Group appointees named

30 Mar 2023

The Road Worker Safety Governance Group process to form a new industry steering group for road worker safety has concluded and representatives have been chosen from those that applied through a formal expression of interest process.

The group’s first priority will be to support the implementation of a new approach to temporary traffic management (TTM) as New Zealand transitions away from a government-led compliance-based model to an industry-led risk-based model.

Association of Consulting and Engineering New Zealand Chief Executive Helen Davidson said there were a large number of high calibre expressions of interest received, which demonstrated the interest in the changes to TTM and the industry’s commitment to a successful transition.

“It’s great to see committed people putting their hands up to engage in these changes, and provide an interface for their parts of the industry, whether they be consultants and designers, clients, lead contractors or subcontractors.”  

Civil Contractors New Zealand Technical Manager Stacy Goldsworthy said the process for selection was robust, with 12 representatives selected from 38 applications.

Mr Goldsworthy said all interested parties could have an input into the changes, and should get in touch with their industry representative for more information, to have input into any changes with the implementation of the New Zealand Guide to Temporary Traffic Management, or to have their say on where changes should land.

The steering group is scheduled to hold its first meeting in mid-April.

The initial representatives are as follows:


NZ Utilities Advisory Group


Waka Kotahi NZTA

Waka Kotahi NZTA

Road Controlling Authority

Road Controlling Authority

Lead contractor

Lead contractor

TTM Subcontractor

TTM Subcontractor

Worker Representative 

Darren Wu (BECA)

Nick Miskelly (Chorus)

Chris Kerr (HEB) - interim

Ryan Cooney

Anthony Frewster

Eugene Grant (Upper Hutt City Council)

Simon Hodges (Christchurch City Council)

Betty Mitrova (Downer)

Dave Rendall (Fulton Hogan)

Dave Tilton (Parallaxx)

Karl Hitchcock (Traffic Safe)

Eddie Taimai-Philipa (T8)

About the Road Worker Safety Governance Group:

The Road Worker Safety Governance Group includes representatives from WorkSafe, Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency, suppliers, client groups such as local councils and industry groups including Civil Contractors New Zealand (CCNZ) and the Association of Consultants and Engineers (ACE NZ).

The group considers how interventions from Waka Kotahi and the sector contribute to keeping road workers and road users safe and well at road work sites. Their scope includes road workers and all those travelling through road work sites including drivers, pedestrians and people on bikes.

The group’s scope also includes how temporary traffic management keeps people safe and how other health, safety and wellness critical risks are being managed at road work sites.

For further information or to contact a representative please contact Helen Majorhazi at




Principal Business Partner
Core Associates
Major Associates
Coninnova Limited
Fluiconnecto Ryco New Zealand Ltd
Global Survey - Auckland
Power Farming New Zealand Ltd
XCMG New Zealand
Geosynthetic Partners International Ltd
H.J. Asmuss & Co. Ltd
A B Equipment Ltd
UDC Finance
Humes Pipeline Systems
Trade Me Jobs
Advice Financial
Hynds Pipe Systems
Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency
TR Group
Mico New Zealand Ltd
Over and Out Communications
Brolube New Zealand
Firth Certified Concrete
Checksafe Ltd
Commercial Hire NZ Ltd
Steelgal NZ Ltd
Brandt Equipment
Enviro NZ Services Ltd
TotalEnergies NZ Ltd
Teletrac Navman
TRIG Instruments
Terra Infrastructure Pty Ltd
MATES In Construction
MBP (NZ) Ltd
TLC Insurance Limited
Wirtgen NZ Ltd
Holcim New Zealand Ltd
Kobelco New Zealand
Nulca NZ
Sheet Pile Ltd
Hydraulink Fluid Connecters Ltd
Infrastructure New Zealand
Capital Consulting International NZ Limited
First Gas
Greenlight Insurance Brokers
Milwaukee Tool New Zealand
Portacom New Zealand Limited
SAMI Bitumen Technologies New Zealand Ltd
Southeys Group Auckland
CSP Div of Fletcher Steel
Rettenmaier New Zealand Ltd
Manage Company
Franklin Smith Group
Winstone Aggregates
Infrastructure Sustainability Council
Reliance Reinforcing Limited
Porter Group Limited
Northpine Ltd
Geofabrics New Zealand Ltd
AECOM New Zealand Limited
Westpac NZ Ltd
The Drug Detection Agency
Terra Cat
RobLawMax Recruitment
Turners Group Ltd: Head Office/Auckland
Komatsu New Zealand Ltd
Vertical Horizonz NZ Ltd
Vertu Equipment Limited
ERoad Ltd
Youngman Richardson
Marley NZ Ltd
John Deere Limited
Liebherr New Zealand
Absolute Immigration NZ
Doug the Digger
BNZ Partners


Forgot password?
Create an Account